Pho sucks. There, I said it.

24 Aug

I hate Pho.

Here in the Washington DC region, many people seem to go crazy over Vietnamese Pho. For those that don’t know, Pho (pronounced feh, as in ‘feh..this tastes like dishwater’) is a Vietnamese noodle soup served in a giant bucket, composed of 90% salty water, 4% undercooked, soggy flavorless meat, 4% noodle, and 2% tasteless vegetables.

Below is a handy diagram demonstrating a typical serving of Pho to  it’s approximate taste.

Pho is gross and sucks and I hate it

Pho is similair to a giant animal carcass floating in a Formaldehyde solution, in both taste and appearance

Pho restaurants abound in DC. Everyone just seems to LOVE it. I do not understand the appeal? And before you say “oh you just haven’t had good pho” I have indeed tried pho at several different places, and did not like. I’m sorry, but gigantic kiddie-pool size servings of salty water with noodles and soggy flavorless meat is just NOT good to me.  To me this is like me saying “I really hate getting punched in the testicles” and you responding with “well, you just haven’t had a really good punch to the testicle then”

It tastes like nothing. It is watery. I can taste something salty yes, maybe its salt from beef  stock, maybe its salt from a fish stock of some kind, but you cant specify. It is just watery salty nothingness. There is some merciful spattering of flavor here and there, like basil and lemon. But that is about it. Many Pho eaters use plentiful amounts of hot sauce as well when eating Pho. Gee I wonder why, perhaps it is because your food has absolutely no flavor?

Vietnam has been cursed and blessed throughout the centuries, from the indochin war, to the Vietnam war, to the Khmer Rouge war, to a presidential palace that resembles lemon-flavored Pez candy,  to the technological achievement of creating a humanoid robot that is capable of playing ping-pong, Vietnam has done it all.

Vietnam war photograph

The Vietnam war was especially brutal

However, Vietnam is forever cursed by one thing: the inability to create any food that tastes better than swamp water.

As Anthony Bourdaine wrote about Vietnamese cuisine:

Animal parts that are often disposed of in many Western countries are utilized fully in Vietnamese cooking.

Delicious Organs, including the lungs, liver, hearts, noodle-like intestines and bladders of pigs, cows and chickens are sold at a higher price than their actual edible meat. Chicken testicles and undeveloped eggs are served as an everyday dish.

Many of the traditional dishes involve the use of pig heads (mmm), tongues (mmm), throats (yum!) and feet (why not?). chicken heads, necks and feet are Vietnamese favorite beer dishes. Steamed pig brains (I prefer steamed over chocolate-coated) can be found anywhere along a Vietnamese street.

It’s bizarre that a nation that obviously normally cooks really delicious food using only the best ingredients would generate something as bland, tasteless, and repulsive-looking as Pho.

If you think I am kidding about the dead rotting animal floating in a chemical preservative as an approximate taste comparison to Pho, let me introduce you to Vietnamese snake wine:

Vietnamese Snake Wine

Vietnamese Snake Wine. Tastes exactly as it looks

*update* funny and true story, scientists recently discovered a new species of lizard at a Vietnamese lunch buffet. leave it to the Vietnamese to make Onion articles legit!

While I am on the topic, may I suggest a Pho restaurant name?

“Pho plus Pho equals ate”

Another good rant on how much vietnamese food sucks:

http://discardedlies.com/entry/?18330_as-it-turns-out-vietnamese-food-sucks-or-a-moral-dilemma

72 Responses to “Pho sucks. There, I said it.”

  1. Daniel October 2, 2010 at 1:12 am #

    I couldn’t agree with you more. I went to a Pho restaurant for lunch with a few friends today expecting a delicious meal based off all the good things I had heard. I can’t even begin to describe how disgusting my food was. When you described Pho as dishwater I had to laugh because that is exactly what was going through my mind as I tried to eat the soup. This is the first time in my life I haven’t been able to finish a meal. I had to fight the urge to gag and vomit for a whole hour as my friends talked about how delicious their food was. I thought I had lost my mind. I’m so glad someone agrees with me.

    • ARtgeg November 18, 2012 at 1:24 am #

      The hate is strong in this one.

  2. two pho-haters October 3, 2010 at 9:14 pm #

    we just googled pho sucks and your site came up.
    well, we couldn’t agree more. pho sucks!!! if i wanted cow intestines in my soup i would just eat menudo, at least that has some flavor.

    p.s. top ramen beats pho’s ass.

    – from L.A.

  3. nathan natas October 24, 2010 at 5:51 pm #

    Hi Dan,

    You said, “…well, you just haven’t had a really good punch to the testicle then”

    ..and so we come full circle, because a really GOOD shot to the nuts will rupture them, causing the seminal vesicles to spill out of their oblate containers just lie the noodles on Pho.

    You get what you pay pho.

    and hey, are you the brainz behind jwalphamale.org and WatchTower 2020 design? It is quite impressive.

    • bboyneko October 26, 2010 at 12:55 pm #

      No I did not do those sites. Thanks for sharing the links though!

  4. MDUBB January 26, 2011 at 10:12 pm #

    What pisses me off is how people insist it’s the best thing ever when they have to know in there heart that it couldn’t hold a candle to a good pizza or cheeseburger or even a good salad for that matter.
    This Pho craze just further reinforces how stupid this country is getting.
    Next someone will tell me that Nike’s are the only shoes that make them run fast or ice doesn’t carry germs when there’s clearly dirt on it.
    We are dumb, dumb dumb sheep. I’m ashamed of my species. Great article.

    • Vince February 2, 2011 at 6:44 pm #

      I dunno about any pho “craze”. At least there isn’t one where I’m from (san diego, ca). We have plenty of viet places and pho is very easy to find, but it’s no more of a craze than any other low priced ethnic food.

      It’s just a matter of taste. Some people really, really like pho. I myself like it a lot, but wouldn’t say it’s the best thing every. I wouldn’t say that it couldn’t hold a candle to a good pizza or cheeseburger either though. I’ve had good pho, good cheeseburgers, and good pizza and depending on my mood any one of them can sound better than the others.

      Hearing it described as a “craze” seems a bit overdramatic. If there is a craze, then it’s definitely not national because here, pho is no more or less popular now than it has been for years. Our pho places are not packed and don’t have lines to get in. It’s the same people as usual: mostly asian (not necessarily viet either), people w their asian friends, and/or people (often college kids) who are hungover and know what a great hangover food pho is (as is ramen, menudo, or any other soup variant).

      Correlating “how stupid this country is getting” with some craze that doesn’t exist is pretty ridiculous imo. People have different tastes in food, get over it.

  5. robin February 24, 2011 at 4:02 pm #

    it sucks big time. Dont ever eat PHO again.
    Dishwater+rubbery meat = pho.

  6. Akbar June 20, 2011 at 9:24 pm #

    Are you serious? LOL Pho is good, the meat is not rubbery at all if you order the right kind and I still dont understand why the hell you would think the soup tastes like dish water when it is a beef broth which is like any other soup youve tasted. If you do not like it, then don’t say that people are stupid for liking it. Everyone has different tastes.

    • Rod Karajas February 5, 2012 at 2:23 am #

      Pho is the WORST. it is not the same as any other soup. to make the broth they boil up bones overnight so they can extract the marrow (yes that red stuff that oozes out). That by itself is disgusting. Chuck in some cheap fatty meat, onion and some bean shoots and there you go.
      I understand that Vietnamese peasants being poor had to make use of everything gizzards etc to survive, but what I don’t understand is how westernized people pay good money to eat this garbage. The restaurant owners don’t even eat this shit themselves! ask them! 😀

      • Huyen Nguyen April 24, 2012 at 5:06 pm #

        To each their own when it comes tastes.

        But boiling bones for long periods of time to extract marrow is not unique to Vietnamese/Asian cuisine. Americans/Europeans do the same thing to make chicken/beef stock. That’s how most stocks are made.

      • Sun Hao September 14, 2013 at 4:51 pm #

        That method of cooking soup is the healthiest method. The French are obsessed with it, too. At least it’s WAY healthier than canned soup

      • BlackSeaGold April 15, 2015 at 10:19 pm #

        The pho you tried actually had bone marrow in the stock and onion? The one we had had none of that.

      • Kyle April 12, 2016 at 10:30 am #

        You don’t like a good bone marrow soup? Try ham bone soup, or classic beef stew with the bones cooked in it. Pho sucks, but stew with bone marrow is awesome.
        Cook American food in your American kitchen, stop going out to eat.

  7. JT September 23, 2011 at 10:41 pm #

    I agree 100%. I had pho for the first time last week with two friends who absolutely LOVE this shit. Salty dishwater with flavorless, soggy meat describes exactly what I thought of it. I couldn’t finish the stuff (which is rare for me) and I left the restaurant disappointed and completely clueless as to what people see in it. I’m glad there are others out there that feel the same way.

  8. PhoReal December 13, 2011 at 10:42 pm #

    You’re complaining about what’s in it, but hey! People know what’s in McDonald’s but they still eat it!

    Just wanted to let you know that everyone has different tastes…

    and your pronunciation is WRONG, and it bugs me.

  9. balinax April 26, 2012 at 6:51 am #

    After reading this, I’m ashamed. Here in hawaii, so much people loves Pho but Pho is losing its taste because apparently stay-at-home mom’s thinks they could cook for a living…actually vietnamese food in general was so much better back in the days, I actually feel sorry for anyone that is being introduce to Pho only now since it’s getting so popular.
    To be truthful, vietnamese aren’t that proud of Pho. It’s just that everyone is making it popular so we have to make a big deal out of it, it’s all about the money now….

  10. Melanie June 13, 2012 at 1:50 pm #

    Everyone has different opinions and Its nice to be honest but it is one thing when your being disrespectful toward someone’s else country. I wouldn’t say Pho is amazing; the best food existing and I wouldn’t say its the worst but the way your stating it is rather..rude. Your saying as if every Vietnamese food sucks, but everyone has different taste buds. Exactly! People know what’s in McDonald yet they still choose to eat it? Its if I said “McDonald is so greasy no wonder Americans are fat”of course that’s not a nice thing to say right? & I agree with someone up there your pronunciation is wrong its not “feh”

  11. Skylor Depp June 17, 2012 at 4:36 pm #

    I lived in a Vietnamese neighborhood….they eat some strange things…..I saw bananas hanging in a plastic bag in a tree in the sun to ferment for days …and men would spit into it now and then I guess to aid in the dermentation.?….is this part of the fish sauce process? …just wondering.

    • Gilberte January 23, 2015 at 12:03 pm #

      I am Vietnamese and what you describe is completely foreign to me. Where do you get that? Some proof like a photo would be nice.

  12. JB November 18, 2012 at 1:19 am #

    Cheeseburger sucks and Pizza is nasty. All those nasty fat and cheese in one bite makes me sick. I don’t see how anyone could eat those pile of flavorless foods.

  13. thisgiveslifetothee January 5, 2013 at 4:04 pm #

    You must not pay much attention to Anthony Bourdain aside from taking his sentiments out of context. Aside from not being able to spell his name properly, he has reiterated time and again on his show, in his blog, and in his live appearances that Vietnamese food (and Vietnamese noodle soups in particular) are among his very favorite foods, and that his episodes shot in Vietnam were his favorites to film.
    Nice job, brilliant food writer!

    • rick May 13, 2013 at 1:08 pm #

      This blog writer is an ignorant fool thats hungry for attention.

  14. Hate guys who talk shit June 2, 2013 at 12:55 am #

    WHAT A DUMB FUCK!!!

  15. Hate guys who talk shit June 2, 2013 at 12:57 am #

    GO FUCK YOURSELF AND STOP TALKING SHIT ABOUT PEOPLES COUNTRY AND FOOD.
    FOR A GUY..YOU FUCKEN TALK ALOT OF SHIT!!! AND NICE FUCKEN PHOTO YOU FUCKEN FAG!!!

  16. Hate guys who talk shit June 2, 2013 at 12:59 am #

    GUYS LIKE YOU SHOULD BE SOAKED IN GASOLINE AND LIT ON FIRE!

  17. Hate guys who talk shit June 2, 2013 at 1:02 am #

    BE A REAL MAN AND WALK INTO A VIETNAMESE RESTAURANT AND SAY WHAT YOURE SAYING ON THIS POST, YOU FUCKEN COWARD!

  18. Hate guys who talk shit June 2, 2013 at 1:04 am #

    HATE FUCKEN GUYS LIKE YOU WHO TALK SO MUCH SHIT…BUT CAN’T STEP UP TO THEIR WORDS!

    • Rick Steen November 30, 2013 at 1:47 pm #

      You don’t even know how to only post a comment once. Congrats, you’re the type of retard that likes pho.

  19. Hmmmm... September 2, 2013 at 4:21 am #

    1/ Everyone’s taste buds aren’t the same. Cliche but cannot be over stated.

    2/ You quoted the famous Bourdain out of his context, just to fortify your factually unfounded hatred for a well loved dish.

    3/ I can understand that you dislike the dish and that much opinion is respected. Your attitude on the other hand is just rotten; even more so when you tried so hard to lump your poor description of Pho with the rest of the Vietnamese cuisines. And how does a picture of people from the war strengthen your point?

    4/ ‘However, Vietnam is forever cursed by one thing: the inability to create any food that tastes better than swamp water.’- You who spat on the good credit given to Viet cuisines by many famous people both inside and outside the culinary world, went too far with the daily-food remarks that were both factually wrong and ignorant.

    Just a few point-outs to you. Also you and those who dared to regard food as “disgusting” do not deserve to eat. Ask any chef and they will tell you that off of your disrespect for food. I am just as amazed and bewildered by your amount of ignorance as you are grossed out by Pho.

    My last remark: My Ah-ha moment arrived as soon as I finished reading your profile note, you who fancy burgers, fries and beers. I bet you take yourself very seriously. lol

    • BlackSeaGold April 15, 2015 at 10:13 pm #

      The article is absolutely spot on about pho. I’ve had pho and other Vietnamese foods. Pho was bland, tasteless, and flavorless. The other foods I’ve had were reasonably tasty.

  20. djwbjjb October 8, 2013 at 6:48 pm #

    The author looks like a fag.

  21. Rick Steen November 30, 2013 at 1:44 pm #

    Pho sucks, and anyone who likes it is a fuckin idiot. You don’t like the taste of pho, you like the taste of the shit you put in it yourself, you retards. All of you are fucking tools who like pho because you’re told to. Have fun liking shitty food.

    • Biker981 January 23, 2014 at 10:46 pm #

      Actually I liked pho before it was a “craze”, but I can respect the author’s opinion of the dish. The author enjoys the taste of burgers, beer, and fries; no wonder he does not enjoy the greatly contrasting taste of pho.

      • BlackSeaGold April 15, 2015 at 10:15 pm #

        “Greatly contrasting taste of pho” — absolutely correct — it is, indeed, in stark contrast to all the other flavorful, richly spiced, and richly scented foods in existence.

  22. Michelle February 24, 2014 at 9:01 pm #

    FINALLY SOMEONE SAYS IT . I thought pho was disgusting the one and last time I had it . And I went there specifically because the crazy person who invited me was like you have to try this.

  23. jmd June 9, 2014 at 10:34 pm #

    For a self-professed foodie (as per your profile), you sure don’t have adventurous tastes. Also, pho is not the only Vietnamese dish in the world, so generalizing your dislike of pho to “Vietnamese cuisine sucks” is beyond stupid.

    • Kyle April 12, 2016 at 10:24 am #

      Good point. But I think his target was the pho craze. The pho craze is absurd, because it’s just shitty poor people’s food.

  24. Daniel July 22, 2014 at 11:04 am #

    At least Americans aren’t being close-minded, patriotic fucks. I think it’s awesome that people find joy in trying ethnic foods. Besides, pho is amazing. Maybe I have a large taste for Asian noodle dishes considering I had large amounts when I was in Japan. Regardless, you are just as stupid and close-minded as people who aren’t American think Americans are. Thanks for perpetuating a stereotype, Asshole.

    • BlackSeaGold April 15, 2015 at 10:09 pm #

      I enjoy different kinds of Asian foods and have had plenty of delicious Asian dishes from different countries. The pho I’ve had is nothing by comparison.

  25. Anh July 24, 2014 at 2:47 pm #

    1. Formaldehyde is not typically used anymore a derivitive caled formalin is used to reduce adverse effects on humans
    2. If the squid is in formaldehyde or formalin it technically shouldnt be rotting
    3. To be able to compare pho to a squid in formaldehyde you must have had to taste it so how was that like?
    Clearly, you don’t know what you’re talking about….And for you to disrespect someone else’s culture is just intolerable. I can understand if you don’t like Pho, because I know everyone’s taste is different. But to degrading it to “rotting squid in formaldehyde” and “dishwater”, you are being very offensive to Vietnamese. Pho is our cultural food and it’s history coincides with the Vietnamese history in the last 100 years. It’s the common people’s food, and represent every facet of Vietnamese’s lives. If you don’t know the history and sentiment behind it, please don’t degrade it and keep your hatred to yourself. Otherwise, it’ll just make you look ignorant or worse “uneducated”.

    • BlackSeaGold April 15, 2015 at 10:07 pm #

      If, as you say, pho represents every facet of the Vietnamese people’s lives, then it makes them seem very bland. I don’t need to know the history or a sentiment behind a certain dish in order to have an opinion about its taste.

    • Kyle April 12, 2016 at 10:21 am #

      Pho is poor people’s food. There’s nothing wrong with calling poor people’s food shitty, no matter what culture it comes from. To paraphrase nixon, we’re all egalitarian now. the point of his rant isn’t to disrespect their culture, it’s to disrespect American culture. American culture of claiming to love terrible ethnic dishes JUST because it is “ethnic.” And let me go off on a tangent of that point. every culture has a vast variety in their cuisine. There are American soups with beef, noodles, vegetable, and 90% brine. I think that soup sucks just as much as pho, and I have to put an entire small bottle of tobassco in it to heat it up.

  26. inquisitiveman July 28, 2014 at 12:59 pm #

    the OP is in the minority…most Americans and people around the world enjoy Pho

    • Dario Milanovic April 23, 2015 at 4:02 am #

      I’m from South Eastern Europe & I love trying new foods. Pho on the other hand was disgusting & I’ve tried it several times. It’s bland and looks colorful but lacks any flavor at all. I’m very open minded about food but it was downright gross.

      Apparently a lot of Vietnamese on here are butthurt that not everyone agrees with their national dish of choice. Pho is so 2010…

  27. patrick August 26, 2014 at 2:47 am #

    Yes! Please hate pho and don’t ever go to pho joint!
    I’m sick of long waits to get a table for my favorite pho restaurant.
    Another thing, they use rat and cat meats or any daily road kill specials. Please pass that everyone you know.

    Next time you see people around pho joint, just point them to nearest mcdonalds or subways.

  28. Mary Pham October 23, 2014 at 1:57 am #

    Damn disrespect the whole country won’t you. You can express distaste for phone yes, but the comment about us failing at food and other things was totally unnessecary and disrespectful.

  29. nsayer February 12, 2015 at 6:06 pm #

    I like to refer to Pho as “Sweat Sock Soup.”

  30. gufy February 23, 2015 at 5:31 pm #

    There is definitely a “pho craze” where I’m from. I get blank stares when I tell people I don’t like it. I love vietnamese food but never understood pho. It doesn’t even come close to a good ramen, seolleongtang, or chinese beef noodle soup. Pretty much every asian cuisine has an incredible stand-out soup, but pho is at the bottom of the list for me. I live near a huge viet community (westminster) so I’ve definitely tried a good sample. It isn’t terrible; it’s just so boring!

  31. BlackSeaGold April 15, 2015 at 10:03 pm #

    The article is spot on about the taste of pho, and I was very happy to read it. We just recently had pho in a Vietnamese restaurant in the Atlanta, GA metro area and were very disappointed. This is a cauldron filled with tasteless, flavorless murky broth which doesn’t smell or taste of beef, or, indeed, of any food whatsoever, rice noodles (no bad in themselves but, again, completely tasteless), and pieces of pale looking beef. The side dish of basil leaves, lime, and a chili pepper does nothing to improve the blandness. The version we tried featured cooked beef. I shudder to imagine what the one with rare beef would be like.

  32. Alex May 4, 2015 at 11:46 pm #

    I kept hearing how delicious this dish was so I eventually caved in and tried it…..nasty dirty water, flavorless chicken, with disgusting drenched vegetables. If I made this at home, I would have thought I made it wrong and dumped it out.

  33. rogerrodgers July 6, 2015 at 5:13 am #

    Haters will hate, but if you hate pho, you must love cum.

  34. you are trolling right July 10, 2015 at 9:20 pm #

    You are getting your panties all tight over this. People like what they like. Have some respect for a culture please. You could have just said you don’t like it no need to insult an entire cuisine. Also the people in the comments calling pho lovers retards just because they like it: that’s not how intelligence works. It’s just their tongue works sheesh.

  35. Brian of Nazareth August 3, 2015 at 5:05 am #

    This fuckstuck hates Vietnam, but I bet he busts a nut over every one of James Nguyen’s shitty movies!

  36. thanhmtl November 10, 2015 at 12:28 am #

    It’s ok not to like one country’s cuisine but the way you describe your hate is exaggerated in childish ways.

  37. John Q Publik November 11, 2015 at 2:17 pm #

    I’m not sure which is worse in this comment stream, the all capzlocks rants about how ghey the author is or the cultural relativists whining about having respect for other cultures.

    Asian food can be gross. Asian culture can be gross. Just like “American food” or American culture can. Stop trying to make everything sacred and enjoy someone being honest.

    For fucks sake.

  38. Anton March 28, 2016 at 2:48 am #

    Have to say I’ve just come from Vietnam and the food is not one of the highlights.

    Everything cooked is flavoured using salty fish-sauce and then presented with a small bowl of the same fish sauce. Fish sauce there is a watery extremely salty almost clear liquid. Also on the table as a condiment just in case you didn’t get enough is salt of course, and that’s more or less that as far as flavouring goes.

    Assorted herbs like Asian basil dont help matters, they taste like your mothers herbaceous border, they are raw and as such dangerous. These are heaped liberally into bowls of Pho pronounced “far”. Unless you say “far” no one there understands what you are saying which is a problem, especially when you don’t want pho.

    Of course you aren’t meant to actually drink the liquid in a pho, just eat the noodles and herbage. Unfortunately the tasteless noodles and bits of tasteless meat floating in the bowl are too awful on their own so one ends up drinking the stock anyway. This leads to an instant salt attack, that not even Viet beer can eradicate.

    Our best meal was in a Chinese restaurant, we had sesame honey glazed short ribs and plain white rice.

    Between the Philippines and Vietnam its difficult deciding who has the very worst culinary tradition. I personally think the Philippines wins but Vietnam is a very, very close second in a region packed with extremely delicious food.

  39. Kyle April 12, 2016 at 10:06 am #

    How often do all of you people eat out? america is 20 trillion in debt and you DC douchebags eat out for every breakfast lunch and dinner.

  40. SeveralBuildingBots November 6, 2016 at 12:28 pm #

    Well done author…..I’m glad someone finally said it!

  41. Kev L December 12, 2016 at 3:18 pm #

    how do you know? did you actually drink dishwater? lol

  42. Nikola December 19, 2016 at 1:38 pm #

    Actually the person who wrote this doesn’t realize that there are more bad Pho places than good places because of how trendy it is. The pho he was describing is not good pho, it’s bad pho. It’s as simple as that.

  43. Nikola December 19, 2016 at 1:39 pm #

    Also there’s a difference between something “sucking” and you not liking it.The fact that it’s so popular means, objectively, it doesn’t suck. You just don’t like it.

  44. ww December 30, 2016 at 1:36 pm #

    White people rants

  45. Steve January 1, 2017 at 4:14 pm #

    You see the problem here is that you’re trying Pho with a little too much salt.

  46. Tú Linh January 16, 2017 at 2:41 am #

    I feel very regret for you, you can only have the best Phở in Việt Nam. You should visit our country to know what is real bowl of Phở and know more about Vietnamese cuisine (instead of criticizing subjectively ). It’s seems to be you have had a very negative view. Our country always welcome you warmly. Whenever you visit Việt Nam, i’m very pleased to introduce you wonderful dishes that you haven’t known, try original dishes that you said “it sucks “. I’m pretty sure that it was the restaurant that you had Phở is bad, not the dish. “Many of the traditional dishes involve the use of pig heads (mmm), tongues (mmm), throats (yum!) and feet (why not?). chicken heads, necks and feet are Vietnamese favorite beer dishes. Steamed pig brains “. It’s true, but not all dishes, just a small number of them. And i have to emphasize that not all Vietnamese people like them 🙂 Many people (including me) in my country don’t know how they can eat such things like that: blood jelly (tiết canh), dog meat (thịt chó)… It sounds disgusting @@ But i read that there’re many countries in this world (from West to East) also having dishes like that (not only my country). You can search: “disgusting dishes around the world”, “weird dishes around the world” and read it to widen your mind 🙂 here, I searched for you http://www.hostelworld.com/blog/the-50-weirdest-foods-from-around-the-world/

    • Tú Linh January 16, 2017 at 2:49 am #

      You know that you can’t find best Sushi in Việt Nam, right? It’s the same thing with Phở in your country! 🙂

  47. John March 15, 2017 at 10:24 am #

    Hey, f**** you! You can only eat shit

  48. Justin April 16, 2017 at 11:29 pm #

    Author is spot on.

    The problem is that most of my fellow Americans are sheepish idiots who do things because it’s “cool” or for attention.

    Most of the people who you see eating this garbage are doing it because their friends are doing it. Same types of people who have tattoos and want babies because their friends have tattoos and have babies.

    I never had to try pho to know it was shit. I just look at the types of people who eat it.

    I’m good thanks.

  49. mindlikeemptyspace April 22, 2017 at 8:04 pm #

    I don’t disagree with you; everyone has their own preferences.

    I love pho and all the Vietnamese dishes I’ve tried. You could say they are bland but I think they are subtle. I’m no sophisticate either: I was raised on hamburgers, pizza, hotdogs, KFC, etc.

    If you describe foods in a cynical, clinical way like you did (“pig heads, tongues, throats, and feet”, “chicken heads, necks and feet”, “Steamed pig brains”) almost all animal products sound revolting (e.g. veal, haggis, foie gras, sweetmeats, prairie oysters, “pluck”, calamari). 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Ethiopian Food Sucks – Everyone in DC is crazy « Adventures of Carbon Atoms - October 26, 2010

    […] I wrote about earlier regarding the bizarre fascination many people in the Washington DC region have with Pho, I will now rant about another fad cuisine that I feel is absolutely […]

  2. Gee and I thought 2013 sucked.......-healthy for living tips - October 18, 2014

    […] Pho sucks. There, I said it. | Adventures of Carbon Atoms … […]

Leave a Reply

