Android is Frustrating, not intuitive and not fun

30 Jun

I’ve been playing with Android phones recently, the HTC Incredible and the HTC Evo..and sorry but I  feel the OS kind of sucks.

It is not intuitive at ALL. I couldn’t figure out how to do anything..it required a friend to train me..and even after that and I tried using the Evo on my own I still could not find the task manager, figure out how to switch tasks and add/remove widgets.

Sorry…it needs to be friendlier and FAR more intuitive for me. Android may be powerful but its not friendly or easy. My user experience was frustrating. I handed the phone to my GF to play with and she was lost and frustrated within 10 seconds as well.

This never happens when we play with iPhones. Yes I understand Android is powerful, yes I understand iPhones lock you in and is not very customizable..but its EASY. It is intuitive and fun. Grandma can pick it up and use it.

Android should be powerful AND be easy to use. But right now it is only easy to use after watching tutorials or playing with it for a week.

Let me give you an example. If I did a usability test on target.com, and told a first-time user to go on the site and find a solution to their storage needs for books, I’d want this user without any tutorials or help, without having to call support, to find the bookshelf section of the site and buy a bookshelf.

If my user can’t do this, and leaves the site frustrated or having to call support..the UI is bad. It has failed.

Well that’s how Android is. Yes it’s powerful, yes it is customizable. yes I can install a new UI over the standard, but I SHOULDN’T HAVE TO.

I should be able to hand the phone to my Grandmother and she should be happily uploading youtube videos of Kitty within 5 minutes.

I think one of my favorite, intuitive task managers in a UI is on the Palm Pre. You swipe your deck of cards, find the app you want, and either click it to activate it, or flick the card away to close it. SUPER easy. SUPER intuitive.

Good article I found:

http://daggle.com/impression-wrong-android-nice-iphone-1607

Also, I feel the Andoid OS is ugly. Reminds me of Windows 95.

I’ve been playing with Android phones recently, the HTC Incredible and the HTC Evo..and sorry but I  feel the OS kind of sucks.

It is not intuitive at ALL. I couldn’t figure out how to do anything..it required a friend to train me..and even after that and I tried using the Evo on my own I still could not find the task manager, figure out how to switch tasks and add/remove widgets.

Sorry…it needs to be friendlier and FAR more intuitive for me. Android may be powerful but its not friendly or easy. My user experience was frustrating. I handed the phone to my GF to play with and she was lost and frustrated within 10 seconds as well.

This never happens when we play with iPhones. Yes I understand Android is powerful, yes I understand iPhones lock you in and is not very customizable..but its EASY. It is intuitive and fun. Grandma can pick it up and use it.

Android can be powerful AND be easy to use. But right now it is only easy to use after watching tutorials or playing with it for a week.

Let me give you an example. If I did a usability test on target.com, and told a first-time user to go on the site and find a solution to their storage needs for books, I’d want this user without any tutorials or help, without having to call support, to find the bookshelf section of the site and buy a bookshelf.

If my user can’t do this, and leaves the site frustrated or having to call support..the UI is bad. It has failed.

Well that’s how Android is. Yes it’s powerful, yes it is customizable. yes I can install a new UI over the standard, but I SHOULDN’T HAVE TO.

I should be able to hand the phone to my Grandmother and she should be happily uploading youtube videos of Kitty within 5 minutes.

I think one of my favorite, intuitive task managers in a UI is on the Palm Pre. You swipe your deck of cards, find the app you want, and either click it to activate it, or flick the card away to close it. SUPER easy. SUPER intuitive.

Good article I found:

http://daggle.com/impression-wrong-android-nice-iphone-1607

Leave a Reply

