Understanding the right-wing crazy heads – why the right wing is so insane

9 Sep

https://i2.wp.com/photos-a.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs250.snc1/9728_844290962067_8618897_51577728_4291738_n.jpg

I used to facepalm the birthers and other right-wing crazies and decided I’d never understand them.

And then it dawned on me, I DO understand them. I used to be a cult member, raised as a Jehovah’s Witness. I bought everything hook line and sinker and was a model JW walking the party lines, so to speak. gays are bad, gays deserve aids, god hates fags, etc.

I never actually THOUGHT about ANY of my beliefs or positions. I was told what to believe, and never questioned it. Homosexuality is from Satan, Catholics are actually worshiping Satan, only 144,000 people will go to heaven, the rest will live forever on paradise on earth. The other 6 billion humans will be killed by God. I prayed every day for God to slaughter 6 billion humans.

We used to go house to house knocking on doors, talking about which house we’d live in once God killed everyone. Seriously.

And I firmly believe the nuttiest of the right-wing are exactly like this. it’s no coincidence many are religious. They are told what to believe, what to spout, and do it. Logic does not apply. It never does when you are indoctrinated.

So i think I finally understand the nuttiness.

2 Responses to “Understanding the right-wing crazy heads – why the right wing is so insane”

  1. dazz September 9, 2009 at 5:41 pm #

    Girl I knew tried to get me into JW.
    Glad that didn’t work out =p

  2. Anonymous November 5, 2009 at 9:40 pm #

    STFU
    You take these extreme and random views and apply them to religion? Just because your behavior and that of your parents was idiotic doesn’t mean that the rest of religion should be painted with the same brush. I had many years of religious education and never thought a single one of the pathetic things you describe.

Leave a Reply

