Death race 2008 was actually good

25 Aug

https://i0.wp.com/upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/d/d2/Death_race_poster.jpg
Watch the trailer

I am seriously starting to wonder what the hell is wrong with critics now a days.

Examples:

Movies they said were GOOD that I hated:

  • Dark Knight
  • Tropic Thunder
  • Lost in Translation
  • There will be Blood
  • No Country for Old Men
  • Wall-E (beginning was a masterpiece, 2nd half was a crappy warner brothers cartoon)
  • Kung-Fu Pands (shitty animation, the best part was the hand-drawn stuff at the beginning)

Movies they said were BAD that I loved:

  • Speed Racer
  • X-Files: I want to believe
  • Fly Boys
  • Hancock
  • and of course, Death Race

Now don’t get me wrong, death race is not high art. THAT’S why it’s good. It’s unabashedly a b-movie. Slow motion bouncy boob shoots, steroid-saturated hero, blood, guts, huge guns, fast cars, amazing slow motion wrecks. This movie has it all for the action junky. I absolutely loved it. It had some great characters. Tyrese Gibson‘s portrayal of ‘Machine-gun Joe’ was awesome. he made the movie for me. Jason Statham has never wowed me over at all, he just squints his eyes a lot and grimmaces. Ian McShane as ‘Coach’ was also a very important person that really sold the movie to me, his character was great.

I loved how loud the movie was..I’m not sure if it was just my theater or what but I swear cars in the parking lot must have broken windows and car alarms blaring from the rumble of the bass. The action sequences were well-edited, the death scenes gory as hell. The cars seemed to race at a realistic speed considering they were all covered in 6-inch thick steel armor. Overall if you are a fan of action I’d say give this a shot you will probably love it as much as I did.

5 Responses to “Death race 2008 was actually good”

  1. rachievegas August 25, 2008 at 8:10 pm #

    You’re insane to think Dark Knight was terrible!

    • bboyneko August 25, 2008 at 8:14 pm #

      yes how could I be anything BUT entertained by the amazing storyline in Dark Knight involving ‘corrupt azn investment banker man’ wow golee that was worth 30 minutes of screen time.
      And man, how I loved Christian Bales bat voice. That was great.
      /sarcasm

  2. asharak August 25, 2008 at 11:42 pm #

    There Will Be Blood and No Country for Old Men both look overrated.
    I plan on seeing The Dark Knight when it comes out on DVD.
    Death Race 2000 is good by itself and I felt there shouldn’t have been a remake.

  3. porphyre September 2, 2008 at 7:59 pm #

    If that’s the case, I can’t recommend Doomsday enough. All it needed were dinosaurs, and then it would be perfect.

    • bboyneko September 2, 2008 at 8:04 pm #

      let me add another movie that critics loved that I hated:
      Monster
      it plain sucked. Ill try doomsday thanks!

Leave a Reply

