My day on the set of ‘State of Play’ with Ben Affleck

10 Mar

This past weekend was my birthday weekend (March 8th) which was cool. Sunday I was cast as a Congress dude on the motion picture “State of Play
which stars Ben Affleck, Russell Crowe, Rachel McAdams, and Robin Wright Penn.

I found this photo posted in an article about the filming:

Ben Affleck State of Play

Thats how Ben Affleck was dressed for the shoot that day. It was a press conference scene they shot, and Robin Wright Penn delivered a very good monologue, that I won’t divulge the details of because I have a feeling the scene is the finale or close to the finale of the film.

Ben Affleck was actually really nice. He joked around with all the extras and even though he seemed exhausted he tried to keep the energy up. He didn’t act like any sort of asshole or anything. He acted as if he were an extra himself, I didn’t even see an assistant or anything like that. I am always pleased when I see a A-list actor act like a down-to-earth human being and not some sort of God. And of course, he acted really well.

The entire shoot took place in the Library of Congress in DC, which is a BEAUTIFUL building. It is THE single most beautiful structure I have ever been in.

library of congress

I was lucky enough to be grabbed for a small scene with Ben Affleck and about 4 other extras. All I had to do was walk down the stairs and brush by Ben as he walked up the stairs. What I enjoyed the most (and also made me very nervous) was that the director was directing me. He was saying stuff like “your in a hurry..for something..doesn’t matter, but your running late” Who knew walking from point A to point B required motivation?

So as long as that scene is not cut you’ll definitely see me brushing by Ben Affleck. I am clean-shaven for this scene..they forced me to cus they thought i’d look more professional lol. I also had the whole makeup thing..I don’t know how girls do it..that stuff is hard to take off.

It’s still surreal sometimes..to come home to Laurel, Maryland, thousands of miles from Los Angeles and Hollywood, and know I just did a scene in a major motion picture with Ben Affleck, or Nicole Kidman, or Jennifer Connelly etc. It may just be as the lowest of the totem pole of acting, but its still the truth. It’s a really cool hobby, I like to think of it as interactive movie set touring, and every single time I do this sort of work I have a shit-ton of fun.

7 Responses to “My day on the set of ‘State of Play’ with Ben Affleck”

  1. Anonymous March 14, 2008 at 2:44 pm #

    My Day on the Set of State of Play
    Good deal, reppin’ Maryland, I’m from Takoma Park and I got called to be an extra for State of Play sometime next week. I’m nervous, but it seems like fun.It does seem funny that it would take motivation to get from poitn A to point B, oh well, guess that’s Hollywood for ya!

  2. hardluckrapture March 21, 2008 at 9:06 am #

    dude they made a movie about you
    http://www.rottentomatoes.com/m/planet_bboy/

    • bboyneko March 21, 2008 at 2:58 pm #

      lol
      i know, ive been following this movie for years. I’m not nearly as good as those guys. I already talked about that movie in my step up 2 review post.

      • hardluckrapture March 22, 2008 at 2:48 pm #

        Re: lol
        Did you get to pick the actor who plays you in the movie, or did the casting director do all the work?

  3. tenshuu March 21, 2008 at 5:27 pm #

    When you step in there, are there high class janitors following you in fully body cleaning suits made of highly absorbant cloth, cleaning and waxing every foot step you take?
    I hope those guys get paid well. That’s one hell of a place to be working.

Leave a Reply

