Goodfellas : Am I the only one who hated it?

7 Jan

Most overrated film in cinema history…I can not believe the accolades this film received. I never saw it until today, so maybe I am tainted by the greatness of Sopranos and Godfather I & II.

The acting was of course, stellar..but the story..the film…so amazingly dull and boring. I forced myself to sit through the entire thing. And when the credits started rolling I was like..what? That’s it?? I now see where Sopranos got it’s entire look and feel (and cast) and see now that Sopranos is essentially ‘Goodfellas: The TV Series’.

At least Sopranos did it right. They focused on the boss. The focus in this film of a boring two-timing drug dealer who is about as interesting as the wig commercial occurring during the film.

I won’t ever understand why people enjoyed this movie so much and hope all prints are destroyed for the good of humanity. Even Donnie Brasco was a better film than this one.

6 Responses to “Goodfellas : Am I the only one who hated it?”

  1. son_of_ottie January 7, 2008 at 7:37 pm #

    WOW! Ok…you are entitled to your opinion, sir. A bit virulent but you are a man of convictions.
    I happen to love and adore this movie. I like it more than any other “mafia-oriented” entertainment in fact. But that’s me. I saw it on the big screen before any hype and in its proper perspective. It is quite true that, for instance, Star Wars today is a fairly boring film but when I was 13 during the summer of ’77 IT WAS GOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Still, Goodfellas IS Scorsese and he’s NEVER made a bad movie. Unlike, for instance in MY opinion, Robert Altman. It is nearly impossible for me to make it thru an Altman film. And Kubrik just plain sucks ass. He was the most successful autistic person ever.
    So having realized these feelings in myself about OTHER films and directors…you go bboy and hate as much as you want!

    • bboyneko January 7, 2008 at 8:28 pm #

      Lol..yeah I don’t get why so many people love it. Scorcese is the man for directing so many of Michael Jackon’s stuff though, I love MJ.
      Also Kubrick’s autism is pure speculation, and I somewhat resent that the tone of your comment uses Autistic as some sort of negative label.

      • son_of_ottie January 7, 2008 at 9:00 pm #

        Um, I made it up. Was there speculation?
        And I don’t believe there’s anything negative inherent in autism other than its affects on the autistic. I appreciate people for who and how they are. What I meant by my comment is that his films, for ME, have a rhythm and sometimes images which I think only HE can decipher. They aren’t particularly narrative. I meant nothing against autistic people. I certainly didn’t mean to offend you! I apologize and I can see how you might take what I wrote like that. Which just goes to invalidate my point doesn’t it?

  2. Anonymous January 24, 2008 at 1:40 pm #

    >> Even Donnie Brasco was a better film than this one.
    No.
    Goodfellas is a classic.

  3. EA OROURKE August 26, 2013 at 9:59 am #

    Donnie Brasco was AWESOME! I related to everyone in that movie. The entirety of Goodfellas, I wanted to SHOOT Henry Hill myself. I found myself wishing that Joe Pesci’s character would END IT ALL!!!

    • jamowens94 October 6, 2013 at 4:16 am #

      I partially agree with you. Henry is the most despicable, lying sack of shit I’ve ever had the misfortune of being forced to try to relate to (that was worded funny, but I’m not gonna edit it), but Tommy was no better. He’s like the text book example for small-man syndrome, and I wanted someone to thoroughly emasculate his manlet of a character and then murder the fuck out of him. I only related to the older guys, Jimmy especially.

Leave a Reply

