Tomorrow is a big acting day

29 Aug

Tomorrow, Thursday August 30th all the way through Tuesday September 4th I will be filming a dance club scene for Step Up 2. Right before that, I have been asked to come in to a local Baltimore casting office and perform a short 60 second monologue, and then perform a cold read. If they like me it will mean the road will be open for small speaking roles, this could really help me get cast in bigger (but still small) stuff.

Getting my SAG card was a huge accomplishment for me, this is the next step. For my monologue I chose the ‘so much beauty’ scene from American Beauty.

Here is one guys shitty version of it (he fucks up the order of the lines and forgets other lines entirely)

And here is the official version from the movie American Beauty

Here is the full text of the monologue:

American Beauty
written by Alan Ball

Ricky:

It was one of those days when it’s about a minute away from snowing. And there’s this electricity in the air, you can almost hear it, right? And this bag was just… dancing with me. Like a little kid begging me to play with it. For fifteen minutes. That’s the day I realized that there was this entire life behind things, and this incredibly benevolent force that wanted me to know there was no reason to be afraid ever. Video’s a poor excuse, I know. But it helps me remember…I need to remember. (distant) Sometimes there’s so much beauty in the world I feel like I can’t take it…and my heart is going to cave in.

Im nervous but excited.

One Response to “Tomorrow is a big acting day”

  1. the_sassypance August 29, 2007 at 9:44 pm #

    i love that monologue. it’s one of the best parts of the film. let me know how everything goes! good luck!

Leave a Reply

