Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man’s Chest was spectacularly good!

11 Jul

*spoiler-free review*

Johnny Depp Jack Sparrow

Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man’s Chest was amazing. I went and saw it Sunday with my friends. I was blown away by the movie, it performed FAR above my meager expectations (due to mixed reviews),. The acting was superb, Johhny Depp fleshed out his Captain Jack Sparrow character even more..and at first I was like, Jerry Bruckheimer directed this? How is it possible for Jerry Bruckheimer to direct a film and it NOT be crap? But I later realized he had only PRODUCED it, not directed.

The director is Gore Verbinski who directed the superb American remake of Ringu, The Ring, and also the wildly imaginative and beautifully crafted Mousehunt, of which I have been a fan of for many years, took this movie and spanked it. He directed the previous film too, which I thought was good. But the first movie is greatly enhanced by this 2nd film. It’s not just a sequel, it’s an actual continuation of the storyline, they make numerous cute references to the first film (like Will Turner being called a eunuch by Jack Sparrow, the Two turtle escape story, the dog with the key, and the ‘Rum incident’ on the island to name a few) that really make you want to go back and re-watch the first film, and actually, I think I will do that tonight.

Anyway, the film also introduces the new Disney logo, and I think it’s really cool. The film featured, besides the amazing special effects (I’ll get to that) some spectacular, jaw-dropping stunts. The stunts looked so real I am unable to decide if it was real stunt work, stunt work aided by computer or 100% computer. Two stunts in particular that impressed me was Jack’s fall during the island native sequence, the sword fight on the wheel, and the stunt work during the attack by a certain giant watery adversary.

As for the CGI, Davey Jones was 100% computer generated. he is, THE most convincing computer-generated character in cinema history, as far as I am concerned. (previous record holder is the Lion in the Chronicles of Narnia) At first I thought it was Bill Nighy in prosthetic makeup, with computer-added effects. But no, Bill was just the voice. Davey Jones was TOTALLY computer-generated..and that impresses the hell out of me. In fact, the entire undead pirate crew of Davey Jones was totally convincing to me.

Also, I must extend kudos to Jack Davenport for his amazing portrayal of ex-Commodore Norrington. He took what was a caricatured bad guy from the first film to a fully realized character, and not only that managed to prove his range with the terrific comedy his Norrington character added to the film. I laughed the hardest during the Norrington sequences I think. I would say that his character added as much to this sequel as Depp’s Jack Sparrow added to the first film. I look forward to his performance in the upcoming third film.

And I am happy to report that despite the mixed reviews (because critics can’t appreciate a cinema masterpiece when they see one) this film has utterly DEVASTATED all box office records, becoming the biggest single-day opening of ALL TIME, biggest 3 day of all time, and biggest 2 day of all time. This film is a monster, and it deserves to be.

Congratulations Disney, Mr. Verbinski and all the actors involved in this gem of a summer blockbuster. Thank you for taking the time to create a truly entertaining piece of cinema for the entire family to enjoy, and not just quickly cashing in on Depp’s popularity with some shitty sequel.

For all of you that have not seen the film, drop everything and go see it now, and buy two tickets because you will want to see it again.

3 Responses to “Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man’s Chest was spectacularly good!”

  1. ouranophobia July 12, 2006 at 6:14 pm #

    holy crap, COMPLETELY CG? I thought at least some of it was makeup or something… wow. I am taken aback.

  2. hardluckrapture July 13, 2006 at 4:03 am #

    Ack. I want to see it but every theater is packed.

Leave a Reply

