The Matrix is an acurate analogy for what it is to leave a cult

21 Apr

https://i2.wp.com/www.idlefellows.com/speculativecatholic/uploaded_images/Matrix-pod-with-baby-740799.jpg
https://i0.wp.com/www.wallpaper.net.au/wallpaper/other/The%20Matrix%201%20-%201024x768.jpg

I was thinking about the Matrix recently…

Being brought up in a cult (Jehovah’s witness) and then leaving..the scene when Keeanu wakes up and sees everyone is plugged into a machine..that level of shock to your reality is EXACTLY the same as when someone like me, who was raised in the cult, goes through when they finally are free of the mind control.

Just like Neo searches on the internet for answers to lingering doubts about his reality, I too found my freedom online. The internet freed me.

Just like the Hackers who held the key to Neo’s freedom were demonized by the men in suits, how they told Neo the hackers were terrorists..the men and women who would help me leave the control of my religion were also demonized. They were called ‘apostates’ and considered like demons or the Devil himself.

And just like in the Matrix, those evil men and women turned out to be my saviors. I could have taken the blue pill, and stayed in blissful ignorance. Allowed others to think for me, allow myself to believe that all I had to do to be a good person is follow the rules and regulations of the Watchtower Bible and Tract Society. That I would not have to think for myself, that they, the “Faithful and Discreet” slave would think for me.

I rook the Red Pill. And again, just like in the movie, I experienced a shock, unlike anything..ANYTHING that anyone who has not awakened from brain washing can possibly fathom. I was born and raised in that world..and woke up in the real world at around the age of 17.

Now..10 years later..I am STIL in schock. I am still getting accustomed to what it is to be free. To develop moral codes from scratch, to decide what I am doing, where I am going, and how.

Now I’m free, every moral value I hold, every belief is backed by evidence and fact and science. By research, critical analysis and logic. No more magic books for me. No more sky daddies. It’s an amazing feeling to be free.

But there are so very many still hooked up to the giant machine. Trapped in a world that isn’t free. Convincing themselves they are happy. Too scared to question, too frightened to ask, too petrified to think.

7 Responses to “The Matrix is an acurate analogy for what it is to leave a cult”

  1. exjehovah April 21, 2006 at 12:41 pm #

    You are a hero & not alone my friend
    Accurate analogy & powerful post!
    Freedom of religion allows religious cults to prosper and my freedom of speech empowers me to warn others of their destructive practices.
    Up close and personal Jehovah’s Witnesses can be wolves in sheep’s clothing.
    Think about this-When the devil comes knocking on your door he may not have the ‘dark goth look’.They could be smartly dressed and wielding the Christian Bible.
    I have Jehovah’s Witnesses family in the usa who practice the Watchtower JW enforced ritual shunning that i have not seen or heard from in 15 years.
    The central CORE dogma of the Watchtower is Jesus second coming (invisibly) in 1914 and is a lie.Jehovah’s Witnesses are a spin-off of the man made Millerite movement of 1840.
    A destructive cult of false teachings, that frequently result in spiritual and psychological abuse, as well as needless deaths (bogus blood transfusion ban).
    Yes,you can ‘check out anytime you want but you can never leave’,because they can and will hold your family hostage.
    The world has the Internet now,and there are tens of thousands of pages up from disgruntled ex-Jehovah’s Witnesses like myself who have been abused by the Watchtower cult.
    Jehovah’s Witnesses are often a mouth that prays a hand that kills.The Watchtower is a truly Orwellian world.
    —-
    Danny Haszard former Jehovah’s Witness X 33 years and 3rd generation http://www.dannyhaszard.com

    • bboyneko April 21, 2006 at 2:21 pm #

      Re: You are a hero & not alone my friend
      The sad thing is that this type of thinking has always and will always exist as long as the vast majority of humanity is complacent and uneducated and lacking critical thinking skills.
      Taking down the JW’s won’t solve anything. Hopefully as humanity matures the ratio of thinkers to sheep will begin to even out.

      • son_of_ottie April 21, 2006 at 6:28 pm #

        Re: You are a hero & not alone my friend
        Yeah, we screwed-up by being too smart, in most cases, to be selected-out naturally. Unfortunately just because you can recognize a city bus as a threat, it doesn’t mean you qualify in other ways to carry-on your bloodline.
        And smarter people don’t have as many children either.
        On the lighter side, the JW Temple in Indianapolis was struck by lightening a few years ago. I thought that was pretty fuckin’ funny!

    • Anonymous June 13, 2006 at 10:24 pm #

      Re: You are a hero & not alone my friend
      http://watchtowermatrix.blogspot.com/
      This is quite moving to find this site. I created this blog and was stunned to see your site.
      Wes

  2. construimus April 21, 2006 at 1:52 pm #

    i always thought this too. i can’t even watch the matrix because it’s too creepy for me.

  3. docwho88 April 22, 2006 at 2:33 am #

    i think you could further generalize the analogy to follow Plato’s ‘similie of the cave’… It’s not on cults per se, but more generally about the reluctance of individuals to consider things outside the boundaries of their experience, the shock they feel when they’re (reluctantly) forced to see it, and then how they are shunned when they try to go back to their former companions and explain what they’ve seen. …to paraphrase, anyway.

  4. keelasfun May 2, 2006 at 2:43 am #

    I totally agree…
    There’s so many similarities it’s spooky…
    Morpheus for example, having this blind faith/trust/hope in the Oracle believing she is not wrong in her/the prophecy.. hmmmm…
    Also the agents. In the past I have used this to explain how the JW’s in general respond to a person who is apostate…. they run… just like Neo was told when he saw an agent….
    I had 2 call on my door and when I said to them I’m not interested, the guy then starts to ask why.. I then told him you are speaking to an ex elder now apostate.. he stood, then they turned and left, no they didn’t run, but I bet deep inside they soooo wanted to get the hell out of my property….
    Yeah, I totally agree…
    Kep

Leave a Reply

