Dry Skin and Asthma are buddies!

21 Mar

As I learn more and more about biology I find that many of my physical and physiological traits are a result of genes. For example, yesterday I read an article that says that a single gene causes severe dry skin and asthma, both of which I have. I had always assumed my dry skin was unrelated to my asthma, but it turns out they go hand -in-hand.


Here is the article Link.
“The research, which was led by Professor Irwin McLeod and Dr Frances
Smith, who, through the study, discovered a link between the dry skin
condition ichthyosis vulgaris, eczema and asthma, once the skin cell
gene was identified.

Further research in Europe found that two-thirds of Irish children with
eczema were found to carry one of more filaggrin mutations, while a
study of Scottish children found that the mutation had a direct bearing
on the incidence of those suffering from eczema and asthma
simultaneously.”

My dry skin is very severe, probably close to diagnosable ichthyosis. I treat it with a variety of methods, Eucerin lotion, aloe gel, and never using bar soap which is extremely drying to my skin. During the summer my skin condition is not as bad. I also need to constantly exfoliate to remove the layers of dead skin that form rapidly, especially on my face.

8 Responses to “Dry Skin and Asthma are buddies!”

  1. kamakaxe March 21, 2006 at 9:50 pm #

    well damn, that explains it. I hope that hastens the search for the cure of both, or at least opens up new possibilities in other fields.

    • bboyneko March 21, 2006 at 10:11 pm #

      i cant wait to have soft, supple skin!

  2. synisterchyck March 21, 2006 at 10:31 pm #

    I’ve always had severe allergies including chocolate (I think being undiagnosed asthmatic when I was younger) And even before I got pregnant my skin has driven me nuts. I used to scratch furrows into it. There have been days when it is so irritated I almost want to peel it off, and so sensitive I can’t stand to be touched.
    My son, who has been diagnosed with asthma (and allergies to all kinds of flora and fauna) always complains about how itchy his skin is and I’m constantly having to slather baby lotion on him.

    • bboyneko March 21, 2006 at 10:33 pm #

      yah it’s likely the same gene

  3. Anonymous June 11, 2006 at 12:50 am #

    You are hot!
    Now I understand why my skin goes numb sometimes when exercising heavily and why I was told I might want to check into asthma testing. I also have dry skin frequently. I treat it with olive oil, eat lots of foods known to encourage moisture retention in skin and use vicks vaporub on many of the dry areas when I know other people won’t be seeing me. This way it seems to remain pretty unobvious to most people.
    Coffee, however, is my weakness. It makes me dehydrate, while at the same time opening my air passages when I get a little breathless. What a catch 22. Peppermint is known to be good for this and helps retain moisture. Maybe I should stick with it, eh?
    Auburn Haired Female who nearly lost her heartbeat for a second when she saw your picture.

    • bboyneko June 11, 2006 at 8:32 am #

      Re: You are hot!
      lol thanks

  4. Anonymous July 19, 2006 at 8:35 pm #

    It all adds up!
    I too have icthyosis vulgaris (the dry skin) and asthma. These were two of three medical conditions for which I sought help and relief. Unfortunately, my mother took me to quack doctors who thought it was due to my spine (yeah, right), and my father who just thought I was weak. If only we had this kind of research and internet access when I was a kid!
    The third condition from which I suffered is Recurrent Corneal Errosion, where my corneas would stick to my eyelids when sleeping, and then tear during REM sleep. This condition is probably due to the skin’s inability to retain body moisture leading to dehydration and then the corneal errosion.
    Unfortunately, I had to wait until my late 20’s before the asthma diagnosis and treatment, my mid 30’s for the corneal errosion diagnosis, and my 40’s to find a lotion that helps my skin (AmLactin). I also keep well hydrated and that helps as well.
    A good thread!
    Bart

  5. Anonymous February 12, 2010 at 3:13 am #

    now
    what if you have had asthma first then got the dry skin is that still a posible gene thing?
    i ahve sever dry skin, i went to the doctor and he said that the weather and the fact that i have asthma is why…idk im just worried

Leave a Reply

