Poem to a dead kitten

4 Aug

Poem to a Dead Kitten

Put the rubber mouse away,
Pick the spools up from the floor,
What was velvet shod, and gay,
Will not want them, any more.

What was warm, is strangely cold.
Whence dissolved the little breath?
How could this small body hold
So immense a thing as Death?

Sara Henderson Hay

7 Responses to “Poem to a dead kitten”

  1. angel_one August 4, 2005 at 6:37 pm #

    How incredibly morbid.

    • bboyneko August 4, 2005 at 6:39 pm #

      i think it’s hilarious that a dead kitten had a poem written to it.

    • Anonymous June 9, 2006 at 3:06 am #

      oh yeah…
      wooooo… hooo…….!!!
      oh wait….. the kittens dead!
      whaaaaaa….. sniff… sniff… sniff….

  2. laceyjess August 4, 2005 at 8:43 pm #

    I got a little teary, actually. Damn you!

  3. Danielle Byrd June 5, 2012 at 10:41 pm #

    I love and hate this poem. I touches a place in me that’s true, and deep, that part I love. It renders me vulnerable, and weak, that’s the part I hate.

  4. Dominique Mack-Rauton September 13, 2014 at 9:25 pm #

    This poem has hada place in my heart for 40 yrs,I’ve had it memorized since I was 10yrs old.Anyone who has loved any tiny creature and lost it understands the beauty of these verses!Heartbreaking and poignant!

  5. janine September 5, 2016 at 5:40 am #

    I read this poem in my first year of High School. 1980? And I can still recite it!

Leave a Reply

