Straight Up! Script

4 Apr

Here is the script:

(previous Scene)

POGO
Where you gonna take her, amigo?

SUNDAY
I don’t have a girlfriend, okay?

POGO
Take her someplace nice.

EXT. SCRAP YARD – CONTINUOUS

Through a mass of car parts, rusted machinery and shut-down tractors and cranes, Sunday and Tamia stroll slowly as if they’re walking
through a park.

SUNDAY
See, I’d come here by myself, and it’d be like my playground. And I liked knowing that nobody knew where I was.

TAMIA
When you were little?

SUNDAY
Yeah, or when my father got shot I was 13, and I just came here and stayed here. I didn’t leave till it got dark.

It’s getting darker now. Tamias hands are in her pockets.

TAMIA
He die, your daddy?

SUNDAY
No. But he couldn’t work after, and he started to drink a lot because he hated that he couldn’t take care of us. My mother made him move
away.

TAMIA
My mother made my father move away. Before I was born.

SUNDAY
Ever see him?

TAMIA
Naw.

SUNDAY
Ever want to?

TAMIA
Naw.

They step over some rusted pipes

TAMIA
I like it when you play the piano

SUNDAY
Me too. I like playing it, I mean.

TAMIA
Was it hard to learn?

SUNDAY
The hardest part was believing I could learn. I felt bad even dreaming about it. You know what I mean?

TAMIA
Yeah.

SUNDAY
It’s what made me join the Colors Project: Dell. He told me I could do it, gave me the courage.

TAMIA
And Hamilton gave you lessons?

SUNDAY
And Hamilton gave me the lessons, yeah.

TAMIA
Sunday, you bring other girls here ever?

SUNDAY
No.

TAMIA
You lyin’ to me?

SUNDAY
No.

TAMIA
I’ll beat you up good if y’are.

Near a tractor, Sunday leans close to her.

SUNDAY
I’m not lyin to you.

Tmia closes her eyes, waits. Then opens them again.

TAMIA
Shit, man, you was spose to kiss me right then.

SUNDAY
I was going to–

TAMIA
Uh-uh. You missed your chance.

SUNDAY
You didn’t give me a chance–

TAMIA
What, you need a sign or somethin’? sayin’ Open For Business? I stuck my whole face up at you!

SUNDAY
Wait–wait up–you just–OUCH!
(stubs his tow)
You just got scared of me or something

TAMIA
I didn’t get scared, I got bored is what I got. Bored waitin’ for you.

Sunday jumps in front of her

SUNDAY
Try me again.

TAMIA
huh!

SUNDAY
I’m a good kisser. I am. Cuz I’m like, you know, sensitive.

He makes a goofy face and Tamia laughs.

TAMIA
If you’s sensitive baby, you’d a got me back there at that yellow tractor.

SUNDAY
Come here.

He puts his arms inside her arms. Her face backs away

SUNDAY
You are scared.

TAMIA
Li’l bit.

SUNDAY
Of me?

Tamia shrugs. Sunday holds her. Looking at her

TAMIA
I ain’t gonna give you no third chance Sunday.

Sunday blinks, then kisses her. It isn’t a big rapturous kiss. It’s a nervous kiss, a teenage kiss.

But it brings Tamia’s hands out of her pockets at least. She puts her arms around Sundays neck.

-END SCENE-

2 Responses to “Straight Up! Script”

  1. sexiloser April 5, 2003 at 8:22 am #

    hey. this is sexiloser from FTJ. i noticed u added me to ur match list thingy. i saw ur pic and you’re reallllllly hott 😉 but im only 16 so i would feel wrong saying yes to the match thing lol. sorry. but i wanted to tell u that ur hott anyway 🙂 byes!

    • bboyneko April 5, 2003 at 10:26 am #

      ah dangit, yeah i dont wanna get in trouble but Im flattered you took the time to post here for me, thanks!

Leave a Reply

