Fuego! Fire! Feuer! Fuoco! Le Feu! Fogo!

9 Dec

Ok, many of you (or maybe like, one of you) have probably been wondering where the heck I’ve been for the past week. Well, let’s make a long story short: MY APARTMENT BUILDING CAUGHT ON FIRE.

fiireeeeeeee

Ok, now the long version, mr and amii ( deleriumtrance ) where hanging out at my apartment, about to make pasta dinner and watch some movies we got from blockbuster when all of a sudden we hear running around upstairs. We think, oh, maybe it’s kids or something. But then suddenly, the fire alarm goes off. At like 8pm on a Thursday night, you know it ain’t no drill. I open the door, yup, flames and smoke.

So poor amii starts to almost hyperventilate, and I start to think..must grab cats thinks me. I look for the cats but they are all hiding…I know that my life is probably not worth risking for saving the life of what is considered dinner in other parts of the world, so I open the sliding glass door to let air in since the smoke was making it hard to breath, hoping that the flames wont reach my apartment and that the air would keep my cats from dying of smoke inhalation. Amii grabs her purchases that she got that day from American Eagle outfitters, and we both run out.

It turns out that in that same apartment complex there is an air Marshall living there (for those outside the US, air marshals are undercover cops who fly on airplanes to counter terrorists threats, should they arise) well this guy just ran around like rambo, kicking in doors, shouting for everyone to get the hell out and asking for fire extinguishers. This man alone put out a large percentage of the flames before the firemen arrived.

They shut off power to the building and the fireman hacked at the walls, tore up the ceiling etc, looking for embers, and doused the building with enough water to create another great lake. I’m not sure what caused more damage, the fire or the firemen. In any case, they put us in a hotel for the night, and I met many of my neighbors. After that, the apartment people gave me a 3 bedroom in the same complex to stay in until the power and water is turned back on in my apartment, something that may take 2 weeks or more.

So right now, I’m in this huge 3 bedroom with no furniture, so I am throwing a massive ‘Dan-b-q’ party. Wanna come?

update: There was ANOTHER fire in a building close to mine, a ceiling fan short-circuited and lit a bathroom on fire. it was quickly put out by the fire department however. The cause of the first fire has so far been rules an arson. Sick people out there huh?

5 Responses to “Fuego! Fire! Feuer! Fuoco! Le Feu! Fogo!”

  1. lisa_monique December 9, 2002 at 7:49 am #

    Oh my! That is AWFUL! I am so sorry!! =o(
    Will they let you into your apartment to get your clothing, etc???
    Ugh…I’m sorry, really.

  2. mistystarr December 9, 2002 at 9:50 am #

    hey is that a pic of the fire itself or is that a random pic you picked up? oh and thats soo awesome that that guy was all rambo like..i luv!!!!rambo! 😀

  3. toggle December 9, 2002 at 10:45 am #

    eep! i hope you’re ok… was anything damaged in your apartment?
    i would come… but you know.
    so far away. *hugs*

    • bboyneko December 9, 2002 at 10:58 am #

      thats a random fire pic, and everything is ok as are my cats, thanks 🙂

  4. rapememyfriend December 9, 2002 at 12:34 pm #

    aw man that sucks! sorry to hear about this….im glad youre ok and your cats too!

Leave a Reply

